“I’d like a latte, please.”
“I’m sorry. The coffee machine’s down. You mind a 30-minute wait?”
“Yeah, that’s fine. I have work to do anyway.”

That exchange pretty much sums up life as a digital nomad in Bangkok.


I’ve always wanted to be a digital nomad – to be able to live yet still sustain myself outside of the city I call home. I cherish flexibility. I thrive on experiences. The desk should not confine me. Neither should the traditional perception of family.

I gave myself a test. I wanted a taste of how I’d feel if I put aside life here to pursue an alternative one abroad. I wanted to know who I’d keep close to and how I’d still maintain that semblance of family. Most importantly, I wanted to ditch running like a hamster on a wheel to rediscover myself.

So I left.

Coffices scatter the city – you won’t need excellent Google skills to land yourself in one of these almost overly-embellished hideouts. Wifi. Space. Peace. Preferably sockets. These are the essentials of places that I camped at. Seats are ample on weekdays, and you’d feel oddly Asian amidst the blondes and brunettes. The English menu and staff who spoke in perfect American accent are signs of pricier food. But divide that by the number of hours spent there and it ain’t all that bad.

Weekday Lunch Sets at Storyline

The scorching heat left me with beads of perspiration though I only trudged for 15 minutes from the Phrom Phong BTS. I swung through the doors and plonked myself on the nearest seat, ready to soak in the air-conditioning. It seemed too wearying to scale to the second floor where larger seats and sockets lay. The lunch set should cure, I thought, and it certainly didn’t dismay. I slurped down the roselle like a camel at a rest stop, patiently awaiting more sides and my favourite green curry to be served. I just had to go Thai despite their western options.

Pad Thai at Eathai

I gazed through the glass panels, intrigued by the performance right before my eyes. The tossing of noodles, flipping of the wok and timing of these moves must be the culmination of years of practice and precision. The camera shook none of his confidence as he focused on his craft. “Pad Thai Plāh̄mụk!” I jerked out of my trance to receive the dish. He gleamed with pride, having successfully impressed another wanderer. I whisked myself to a high seat, taking in the smells and sounds emanating from the other stalls. Street food in comfort – this is the life.

Cakes at Forest Bake

I spiralled up the escalators aimlessly, strolling past endless stretches of food haunts that I probably would find at another mega mall. Till I saw this. I tucked in on a pumpkin pie, carefully balancing it on a tray while climbing up the fragile whitewashed stairwell. There I sat, at one of the highest floors of Central World, overlooking the buzz that permeated the stories below. Sunlight flooded in through the roofs, befitting the natural ingredients in these bakes. I basked in a world of my own, as dusk faded into night.

3D Foam Art at B-Story Cafe

My famished soul hurried me into the nearest joint I could find. I stepped in, taken aback by the fairytale charm and its mismatched Thai offerings. It’s as if Frozen played out in the Tropics. Despite its Western fare, I went Asian anyway. As the spice of yet another bowl of green curry hit my palette, my glance was stolen by the foam bears that snuggled atop iced drinks that the server was carrying. It was no wonder that the gender ratio tipped the balance, with ladies racing for selfies before the bears took their dives.

French Toast at Kay’s

The walk from Chit Lom BTS was already clockwork, for the allure of Open House at Central Embassy drew me back every single day. I eyed the empty couch, making sure to snag it before couples cosied up on it. The full-length glass windows made the seat such a steal that I could go for hours on end sipping multiple cups of hot cocoa and mulling over life. The live music that would play occasionally added to the freeness of the atmosphere, emphasising how casual and welcoming this space is meant to be.

Weekday Lunch Sets at Roast

The Commons had been calling out to me since its doors opened in 2016. I grabbed down, certain that I would not want a repeat of my adventure to Storyline. The climb up the fourth floor proved entertaining as artful shops passed me by. Then, the clanking of machines and waft of caffeine hit, and I was ushered into an oddly-populated restaurant for a weekday afternoon. The crowd promised, and the generous set was served. The flocks left soon enough, with some bagging leftovers that were too scrumptious to waste. I pride myself for downing them all. That was brunch for me anyway.

Iced Chocolate at Lazy Mary Coffee

I strolled along the alleyway, careful not to step into puddles accumulated from the night before. What a way to end this trip cruising along paths better meant for scooters and two feet, instead of venturing into another tried and tested mall by train. The hole-in-the-wall cafe needed a little attention to be noticed, and a whole lot of patience. Not that it mattered. This was where the coffee machine broke. But I’m glad it did, for I wouldn’t have gotten drunk on their decadent iced chocolate otherwise. The moist banana cake would have me yearn for seconds, if not for me saving some space for April’s Bakery after.

Life can be lived more slowly, more purposefully and more freely. The angled mirrors along the countertop were a stark reminder of how the trip ended – in reflection.


Book your stay in Bangkok here!

Leave a comment